Indiana Gregg - Woman At Work

Published Wednesday 28th March 2007
Indiana Gregg - Woman At Work
Indiana Gregg - Woman At Work

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 23611-12567
LABEL: Gr8pop

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Indiana Gregg is an American songwriter who has been living in exile in Europe for a dozen years. She's had quite a life and in her 35 summers, more than her fair share of obstacles to overcome so it's refreshing to find such a set of uplifting, upbeat, positive songs. Her skill is to weave a thread of optimism through songs drawing on everyday experiences. "Oh Me Oh My" catalogues the pressures of the sort of disastrous day we all have from time to time yet by the end of the song you're smiling. The confessional "Love Is Blind" plots a course of emotional searching that sees Indiana coming full circle and rediscovering God's love. Not that you would know she's talking about God necessarily because the songwriting throughout the album is very subtle and yet that nagging optimism pervades every song. She creates songs that are infused with melody and draw the listener in deeper as she tells her stories. Her bright poppy sound is topped by a strong voice as good as any female songwriter operating out there today. The question is whether with high profile support slots including the recent Lemar tour, she can catch the public imagination. Meanwhile the count all your blessings message of her current single "Sweet Things" deserves to win her a wider audience. This is an accomplished debut that grows better with every spin in my CD player.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Prelude [Listen]
2. Sweet Things [Listen]
3. Something Like Me [Listen]
4. Love Is Blind [Listen]
5. Oh Me Oh My [Listen]
6. How Many Tears [Listen]
7. Crazy Crazy Crazy [Listen]
8. Groovy Kinda Wonderful [Listen]
9. Coming Around Again [Listen]
10. For Life [Listen]
11. Kiss Me All Night [Listen]
12. Kid Soldier [Listen]
13. Heaven Too Long [Listen]
14. One Of Us [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Amee in Bournemouth @ 17:25 on Mar 30 2007

I saw her last night supporting Lemar.... she was amazing. I can't wait to get her album Monday!

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.