Integrity Instrumentals - Peace

Tuesday 7th May 2002
Integrity Instrumentals - Peace
Integrity Instrumentals - Peace

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
LABEL: Integrity 21742
RRP: £5.99

Reviewed by Philip Crawley

I don't really get it - this disc is part of Integrity's 'Peace' series and the liner notes start "Have you ever looked through your CD collection searching for just the right music?" Well I do often and I could never imagine this one hitting the spot. It's not that I could fault the musicianship, the production or the choice of tunes but this style does seem to strip away any of the power and passion the songs held. Like those compilations of panpipes recordings of "classic" mid-'90s rock tunes that were popular a few years ago this sounds like a parody to me. The fact that they all flow seamlessly together with flute, piano and strings constantly
trying to outdo each other in adding unnecessary trills to the melody just made me long for something that really would talk to me about God's love in a gritty, uncompromising style. This easy istening mega mix contains such classics as "Be Still And Know" and "As The Deer" - but I was hard-pushed to recognise them.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Return Unto Thy Rest [Listen]
2. We Are An Offering [Listen]
3. As The Deer [Listen]
4. Return Unto Thy Rest (Reprise) [Listen]
5. Wonderful Peace [Listen]
6. The Father's Peace (Interlude) [Listen]
7. Wonderful Peace (Reprise) [Listen]
8. You Are My Hiding Place [Listen]
9. Hiding Place [Listen]
10. Peace Like A River [Listen]
11. River Of Life (Interlude) [Listen]
12. Like A Shepherd [Listen]
13. You Make Me Lie Down In Green Pastures [Listen]
14. You Are My Everything [Listen]
15. The Still Waters (Interlude) [Listen]
16. Like A Shepherd (Reprise) [Listen]
17. Be Still And Know [Listen]
18. Be Still My Soul [Listen]
19. I Worship You Almighty God [Listen]
20. Exalt The Lord Our God [Listen]
21. O Worship The Lord [Listen]
22. Return Unto Thy Rest (Reprise) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.