Lisa Weyerhaeuser - Caught In Time & Space

Published Wednesday 25th September 2013
Lisa Weyerhaeuser - Caught In Time & Space
Lisa Weyerhaeuser - Caught In Time & Space

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 143621-21026
LABEL: 884501948142
RELEASE DATE: 2013-09-02
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Oscar Hyde

The Illinois-based Weyerhaeuser has spent 25 years in Christian music, originally ushered in by no less a patron than Larry Norman. Since Norman's death, she's organised a tour in tribute to the godfather of Christian rock; this CD, in large part co-written and co-sung with Norman, is being re-released in commemoration. It's pleasant country-rock, with some imaginative instrumentation, though some of that imagination works better than others - "Keeper Of The Clock", featuring harpsichord and a Mellotron-like beat reminiscent of "Strawberry Fields Forever", has aged much better than the opening track's misplaced swirly synths. Three of the late Norman's songs make an appearance here, some as duets with Larry himself, which make for especial highlights. Weyerhaueser's own compositions are no slouch either; I've heard musicians pray for compassion, but not specifically for sensitivity, as she does in "This Is My Prayer". Specially added for the re-issue are eight of the original songs in a new acoustic format, and as usual it's fascinating to hear the songs in a more stripped-down setting.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Closest Friend [Listen]
2. Keeper Of The Clock [Listen]
3. Psalm 42 [Listen]
4. Rekindle My Fire [Listen]
5. This Is My Prayer [Listen]
6. We've Only Got Forever [Listen]
7. Stronger Now [Listen]
8. Get Away [Listen]
9. Sweet Sweet Song Of Salvation [Listen]
10. Great American Novel [Listen]
11. UFO [Listen]
12. Politically Correct [Listen]
13. Closest Friend (Acoustic) [Listen]
14. Keeper Of The Clock (Acoustic) [Listen]
15. Psalm 42 (Acoustic) [Listen]
16. Rekindle My Fire (Acoustic) [Listen]
17. This Is My Prayer (Acoustic) [Listen]
18. We've Only Got Forever (Acoustic) [Listen]
19. Stronger Now (Acoustic) [Listen]
20. Get Away (Acoustic) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
The black leather jacket Lisa Weyerhaeuser is wearing on the CD front cover was given to her by Larry Norman during the recording of the Caught in Time album. It is the jacket Larry wore on stage for years. He wears it on the cover of his “Something New Under The Son” album amongst other projects.

“I hope this recording of Caught in Time honours Larry Norman and more importantly Jesus”, declares Lisa. “One connection that I will be forever grateful for happened in November 1982”, Lisa continues, “when I first got to hear Larry Norman live in concert and then had the opportunity to interview him after the show for my college newspaper. That night I met a stranger who became a friend and I am grateful to this day for the friendship we enjoyed. Larry had the ability to cause people to feel a deep connection to him and to the God he served and I am one of the many whose life is better because of that knowing. I hope this project is one way to invite you into a few of the moments that were “Caught in Time”. It’s a bit of a walk down a musical memory lane and I hope it brings back to you some of those Sweet Sweet Songs of Salvation that you have experienced in your journey.”

Produced by Larry Norman

Arranged by Charles Normal

Mixing and Additional Recording by Randy Adams and Chris Freels

Backing Vocals: Larry Norman; Kevin Bailey; Charles Normal; Randy Wills

Guitar, String Programming, Keyboard, Percussion: Charles Normal

B3 Organ: Dan Cutrona

Harpsichord: Randy Wills

Harmonica: Larry Norman

Recorded in Sweden, Los Angeles, Chicago, Dallas and Oklahoma City

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.