Nicole Croteau - Anchors & Silhouettes

Published Thursday 16th February 2012
Nicole Croteau - Anchors & Silhouettes
Nicole Croteau - Anchors & Silhouettes

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 123286-18962
LABEL: Dream

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

California's Nicole described her opening track here, "Falling", as "a fun, bubbly love song" and that's exactly what it is. However, rather than the predictable synth pop arrangement there's a deft Americana-tinged vibe with the instrumental breakdown featuring drums (played by her brother Tony Croteau), a banjo and whistling! There are more surprises in the arrangements throughout (catch the harmonica on "Pushed Down") but they never become overbearing and it's Nicole's appealing little-girl-lost vocals which remain centre stage. Nicole's compositions are memorable too. She's able to pen anthems of freedom in Christ ("Pushed Down"), the need for America to get a wake up call ("Think About It") while the song "Devon" isn't about Britain's West Country but was inspired after a close friend's mother had passed away. Nicole's country roots are demonstrated in the country-style bonus track "Thirsty Roots" and throughout the delicate blend of wistful voice and nimbly organic accompaniments make 'Anchors And Silhouettes' one of the best debuts you'll hear this year.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Falling [Listen]
2. Storyteller [Listen]
3. Pushed Down [Listen]
4. Amazing [Listen]
5. Think About It [Listen]
6. Sacred Romance [Listen]
7. Butterflies [Listen]
8. Rescue [Listen]
9. Hurricane [Listen]
10. Devon [Listen]
11. The Getaway [Listen]
12. Thirsty Roots [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.