Paul Colman Trio - Return

Published Wednesday 28th September 2011
Paul Colman Trio - Return
Paul Colman Trio - Return

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 115892-18227
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Ben Lloyd

Marking the end of their five year break from recording, "I Don't Know Why" opens this sixth Paul Colman Trio in powerful rhythmic style, marking a highlight of 'Return' and promising an audio treat for the listener. "Show Me The Real You" is a similarly pop-infused yet contemplative track, detailing the quest for God's guidance through life. "World You're Living In" is a skilful blend of social commentary and upbeat pop, managing to discuss real-world disappointments and problems without being morbid or depressing, definitely another high point of 'Return'. "Wannabe" sounds as though it owes some of it's musical inspiration to Aerosmith thanks to it's clunking guitar work, raspy vocals, squealing guitar solo but PC3 go further by offering intelligent lyrics too. External influence can also be heard on "Salt Of The Earth" with The Edge-influenced guitar work. Weaker tracks include "5's & 6's", chronicling a relationship breakdown, and "Judge Judy", a two-minute nonsense ballad about the eponymous American adjudicator. Overall though, this album is a most welcome return for the Australian pioneers.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I Dont Know Why [Listen]
2. Show Me The Real You [Listen]
3. The Gathering [Listen]
4. World You're Living In [Listen]
5. Wannabe [Listen]
6. 5's & 6's [Listen]
7. Salt Of The Earth [Listen]
8. I-53 [Listen]
9. Say Goodbye [Listen]
10. Judge Judy [Listen]
11. Forever Friend [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.