Red Fist Revolution - The Fall Of Goliath

Published Monday 3rd October 2011
Red Fist Revolution - The Fall Of Goliath
Red Fist Revolution - The Fall Of Goliath

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 117714-18394
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Ian Webber

Citing a long list of influences, this concept album reflects a whole range of styles ranging from acoustic ballads to electro metal. California's Red Fist Revolution is the creation of Ben Stewart (known for his work with the metal band Conspiracy Of Thought) and tells the story of Trooper Chrysalis and his transformed fight with an oppressive mega government, Goliath. After the slow start of "Down In The Valley" which seems to labour, RFR really get into their stride with a groove metal sound that is reminiscent of Kings X or Pearl Jam. Ben's vocals are irresistibly smooth with a gravelly edge as they are squeezed out over a bass heavy set of tracks. Highlights include "Working Class Automaton" and "Fall Goliath Fall" that both feature infectious sing along choruses while the Cross Rhythms turntable hit "The Bomb" is an exciting rock rap nod in the direction of System Of A Down. RFR can write memorable, catchy tunes and include a full set of scriptural references for each track outlining the inspiration behind each cut. With top rate packaging this is a groundbreaking release from an exciting new act.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Down In The Valley [Listen]
2. The Bomb [Listen]
3. Can't Stop [Listen]
4. Drowning Again [Listen]
5. 30 Pieces [Listen]
6. Paralyzed [Listen]
7. Working Class Automaton [Listen]
8. Time Of Change [Listen]
9. Class War [Listen]
10. Pound [Listen]
11. Fall Goliath Fall [Listen]
12. Resuscitate [Listen]
13. Marching To Valhalla [Listen]
14. New Jerusalem [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Trooper Chrysalis in North America @ 17:37 on Oct 4 2011

Thanks for the great review!!! Only as a people united will we see Goliath fall. The Red Fist Revolution is on the move...

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.