Rick Altizer - Blue Plate Special

Monday 1st February 1999
Rick Altizer - Blue Plate Special
Rick Altizer - Blue Plate Special

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Dancin' Dave Derbyshire

I'm always pleased to come across a Christian artist prepared to take a risk and do something even a little different. Though Rick names David Bowie as a major influence he sounds more like Elvis Costello to me. "Blue Plate Special" is a wacky, fun, guitar driven, pop/rock album with electric guitar, percussion and clear vocals. In fact there are some wild and wonderful pieces of guitar by his co-producer Adrien Belew and I could just keep on playing these catchy hooks. Rick Altizer's light-hearted approach makes these songs fun but I am sure that there is also some spiritual depth. On the surface, the title track is about someone complaining that their food is off. But Rick explains in the blurb that it has a deeper meaning. It is about how philosophies, fashions and cultures are recycled for each generation and are starting to smell like 'yesterday's chicken'. Very post-modern indeed. Rick mixes this satirical wit well with his more reflective side by including songs about a friend's marriage break up and the cross. Intuitively avoiding Christian clichés this is an insightful and entertaining album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Make A Monkey [Listen]
2. Never Shake His Hand [Listen]
3. How Many [Listen]
4. Not The Enemy [Listen]
5. Oxygen Tank [Listen]
6. Jan The Best [Listen]
7. Amy And Her Baggage [Listen]
8. In L.A. [Listen]
9. Blue Plate Special [Listen]
10. River Of Grace [Listen]
11. Walk Beside You [Listen]
12. When You Walked Up That Hill [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.