Sarah Brendel - Early Morninghours

Published Tuesday 14th April 2009
Sarah Brendel - Early Morninghours
Sarah Brendel - Early Morninghours

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 78962-15363
LABEL: Gerth Medien

Reviewed by James Lidgett

The German singer/songwriter may be known to some UK music lovers - Fierce! briefly distributed Sarah's previous self-titled album. Perhaps the most instantly recognisable thing is the distinctive quality of her voice. It is clear and engaging thanks to an ineffable colour that perhaps lies somewhere between Robyn and Carla Bruni. The musical style that is portrayed by Brendel is also quite a departure from the mainstream popular music cultural norm. A masterfully woven interplay of gently fingerpicked and more heavily and forcefully played guitar accompaniments give the album a sense of movement, of progression and of shape. Influences are evidently drawn from different geographical and cultural settings, with variations in instrumentation seemingly reinforcing this. Larry Norman devotees will want to search out this album for the duet Larry contributes on the Brendel composition "Back To The Dust". A bonus video on the disc gives a diary account of Sarah and Larry meeting and spending time in the studio recording the track. All in all, this is an artfully crafted set of alt pop songs from a singer/songwriter who deserves exposure outside of her homeland.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Early Morning Hours [Listen]
2. Song Of Love [Listen]
3. Back To Dust [Listen]
4. Selfparalyzed [Listen]
5. Dancers Of The Night [Listen]
6. Crush On You [Listen]
7. Burning Of The Ages [Listen]
8. Keep Us Alive [Listen]
9. Write Down [Listen]
10. Into Another Land [Listen]
11. Travel With Me [Listen]
12. Here Comes The Day [Listen]
13. Walking Backwards [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.