Sean Slaughter - Die Another Day

Published Wednesday 10th August 2005
Sean Slaughter - Die Another Day

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 12822-2332
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Steve Hayes

Sean Slaughter is the son of well known worship leader Alvin Slaughter. In a recent interview Sean confessed his desire to see both platinum sales and a platinum number of souls saved. The influences on this album are highly contemporary and commercial, as is much of the subject matter. Sean Slaughter openly admits he wanted the album to be the kind that would appeal to the MTV audience. This is apparent right from the opening track "Die Daily" which sets the tone for this excellent album with fast and precise delivery over an epic East Coast track. Across the album we find Sean Slaughter mixing up a gritty style yet with a really smooth delivery. There are a couple of beats that could've been changed up a little but musically and sample-wise, the album is diverse, with well conceived production. In "Love Jones" we get more down tempo with gentle backing vocals, as Sean Slaughter often talks about his daughter. "Pop Off" is a good party tune where we get a little more crunk. "Don't Cry" beautifully recounts the story of Job, showing a real story-telling gift. In "Beautiful" Sean delivers an encouragement to women's inner beauty with great insight over the vocal hook. We end with "Undefeated", a determination to walk undefeated as a soldier of Christ.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Die Daily [Listen]
2. Rap Musik [Listen]
3. You Gon See [Listen]
4. Love Jones [Listen]
5. Suuuu [Listen]
6. Fool [Listen]
7. Pop Off [Listen]
8. Balck Musik [Listen]
9. Job [Listen]
10. The Champion [Listen]
11. Stadium Lights [Listen]
12. Jonah In The 21st [Listen]
13. Burning [Listen]
14. Beautiful [Listen]
15. Undefeated [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Dennis in Uganda @ 15:13 on Apr 8 2009

great review. soldier on sean slaughter, the soldier of christ!

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.