Shawn McDonald - Scattered Pieces: Live

Published Wednesday 13th June 2007
Shawn McDonald - Scattered Pieces: Live
Shawn McDonald - Scattered Pieces: Live

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 22292-12588
LABEL: Sparrow SPD79264
RELEASE DATE: 2007-03-09
PRICE: £9.97 RRP £12.99

Add To Basket

Reviewed by Steven Bridge

Since launching his recording career in 2004, Stateside's Shawn McDonald has not only released two studio albums, 'Simply Nothing' and 'Ripen', he's produced two live albums of which 'Scattered Pieces: Live' is the latest being released this year. McDonald's low key folk-based music sees the inclusion on some tracks here of effective additions such as light percussion, acoustic piano and some cello. Most of the set is still largely McDonald and his acoustic guitar and this has the effect for this listener of my attention wandering somewhat. Having said that, his testimony in song is honest. If it was said that Shawn hit rock-bottom in his teen life, then the scattered pieces of his life were picked up by the Rock who is Christ and put back together again in a beautiful way.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Amarillo, Texas) [Listen]
2. Amarillo, Texas) [Listen]
3. Gastonica, North Carolina) [Listen]
4. Detroit, Michigan) [Listen]
5. Alexandria, Minnesota) [Listen]
6. Alexandria, Minnesota) [Listen]
7. Joplin, Missouri) [Listen]
8. Ft. Walton Beach, Florida) [Listen]
9. Fargo, North Dakota) [Listen]
10. St. Paul, Minnesota) [Listen]
11. Detroit, Michigan) [Listen]
12. Bristol, Indiana) [Listen]
13. Bristol, Indiana) [Listen]
14. Statesboro, Georgia) [Listen]
15. Mt. Berry, Georgia) [Listen]
16. Laurel, Mississippi) [Listen]
17. Mt. Berry, Georgia) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.