Shout - It Won't Be Long/In Your Face

Saturday 1st April 2000
Shout - It Won't Be Long/In Your Face
Shout - It Won't Be Long/In Your Face

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
RRP: £0.18

Reviewed by Philip Price

Are you old enough to remember Boston or Foreigner? If so, then this re-release of two albums on one CD, by the seminal ‘80s Christian metal band Shout, may be just what you’ve been waiting for. The albums contained on this CD are 1988’s ‘It Won’t Be Long’ and 1989’s ‘In Your Face’. Fronted by veteran Christian rocker Ken Tamplin, Shout play competent hard-edged AOR in a way that CCM Magazine described in March 1989 as “fast, loud, fast and loud, loud and fast, and ever louder and faster…” This isn’t just thrash music, though, there are songs with strong lyrical content that encourage us to get ever deeper into our relationship with the Father. There are some stand-out tracks, such as “Shout”, “Showdown”, “Without You”, and “Getting Ready”. Some of the songs sound a little dated, whilst others don’t seem to go anywhere. However, that doesn’t mean they aren’t worth listening to. If you like Petra, David & The Giants and the like, then you will love this. Good lyrics, good music, good value! Buy it.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Never Stop [Listen]
2. Winners Or Losers [Listen]
3. It Won't Be Long [Listen]
4. Find A Way [Listen]
5. Dancin' Round The World [Listen]
6. Shout [Listen]
7. Showdown [Listen]
8. Timeless Love [Listen]
9. Without You [Listen]
10. Borderline [Listen]
11. When The Love Is Gone [Listen]
12. Give Me An Answer [Listen]
13. Faith, Hope And Love [Listen]
14. Gettin' Ready [Listen]
15. In Your Face [Listen]
16. Getting On With It [Listen]
17. Waiting On You [Listen]
18. Moonlight Sonata (In 32nd Notes) [Listen]
19. It's All I Need [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Lee Gallacher in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK @ 20:31 on Apr 19 2009

Remember playing these on a "Ghetto Blaster" or portable tape deck in the park nearly every night after school. We were hated by the local teeny boppers who were running out buyin Kylie albums. Those were the days, still got a few tracks on MP3 but would love to have the collection again

Posted by James Oldham in Kansas City, Missouri @ 20:55 on Jul 30 2008

Can someone let me know when this CD comes out. I want it as soon as it comes out. I bought the cassettes and gave them away. Want to hear them again.

Posted by John Bartell in Brockport, New York @ 01:08 on Jun 8 2007

Yes, unfortunately I am OLD enough to remember SHOUT. I loved listening to their music when my friends and I would lift weights, and share the ballads with my girlfriend (now my wife of 17 wonderful years). I can not wait for this CD to become available.

In His Love,
John Bartell

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.