Sister Ernestine Washington - Sister Ernestine Washington 1943-1948

Published Saturday 3rd May 2008
Sister Ernestine Washington - Sister Ernestine Washington 1943-1948
Sister Ernestine Washington - Sister Ernestine Washington 1943-1948

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21393-11948
LABEL: Document DOCD5462
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Sister Ernestine is best known to white jazz collectors because of four sides she made with the legendary George Lewis-Bunk Johnson jazz band in 1946. As this CD indicates though, the good sister wasn't really a jazz artist as demonstrated by the recordings here she made with renowned quartets The Dixie Hummingbirds and The Southern Sons. The music originally released on the 78s compiled here show why "the songbird of the East" was both popular and influential as she toured the Gospel Highway. There is much fascinating music here and particularly intriguing is "What Are You Raising Your Children For" where her husband, the Rev F D Washington, showing he was a gutsy preacher in the style of Rev J M Gates. 14 of the 27 sides on this album were recorded for New York label Manor. As the fascinating sleevenote reveals, at the same time that Sister Ernestine was cutting fiery tracks like "God Will Wipe All Tears Away" and "I'm Gonna Live The Life I Sing About" a record company was tempting Ruth Jones, vocalist with the Sally Martin Singers, to cross over and sing blues. Ruth became Dinah Washington and found fame and fortune, Sister Ernestine resisted the lure of the dollar and carried on singing gospel right up to the time of her death in the '70s. She lived the life she sang about in her songs indeed.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Goin' To Shout All Over God's Heaven [Listen]
2. Little David, Play On Your Harp [Listen]
3. I Want To Go To Heaven When I Die [Listen]
4. Ezekiel Saw De Wheel [Listen]
5. De Old Ark A-Moverin' Along [Listen]
6. Mary And Martha Jes' Gone Long [Listen]
7. In Brtight Mansions Above [Listen]
8. Reign, Massa Jesus, Reign [Listen]
9. Walk Together Children [Listen]
10. Keep Inching Along [Listen]
11. Old Black Joe [Listen]
12. Water Boy [Listen]
13. Deep River [Listen]
14. Going Home [Listen]
15. Swing Low Sweet Chariot [Listen]
16. My Lord What A Morning [Listen]
17. 'Tis Me [Listen]
18. Steal Away [Listen]
19. Lead Me To The Rock [Listen]
20. Do You Want To Be A Follower Of The Lord [Listen]
21. Children Go Where I Send You [Listen]
22. Rock My Soul In The Bossom Of Abraham [Listen]
23. Wade In The Water [Listen]
24. Wallace Fit The Battle Of America [Listen]
25. Henry Wallace Is The Man [Listen]
26. Each Day [Listen]
27. Jesus Is All The World To Me [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.