Sixteen Cities - Sixteen Cities

Published Wednesday 26th May 2010
Sixteen Cities - Sixteen Cities
Sixteen Cities - Sixteen Cities

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 94429-16652
LABEL: Centricity

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

On the current Christian modern rock scene of America there are literally hundreds of bands vying for attention, gigs and recording sessions. So the fact that this band of 21 to 23 year olds from Portland, Oregon have landed a deal with Centricity Music and been placed with some of CCM's most experienced hit-making songwriters/producers - Rusty Varenkenap (Rush Of Fools), Jason Ingram (Tenth Avenue North) and Steve Wilson (Hawk Nelson) - says much for Sixteen Cities' potential. On the whole, Centricity's confidence pays off here. Lead singer Josiah Warneking demonstrates the chops to become a top rock vocalist up there with the Dan Haseltines and Mac Powells while the ringing guitars and socking drums here are top rate (if, occasionally, a little generic). The stylistic influences are good too - a touch of Savage Garden on "Only After You" and a hint of The Killers on this set's first single "Sing Along". In fact it's "Sing Along" that stands out as the albums choice cut, though the surging guitar opener "Just Wanna Dance" and the contemplative piano pop song "Come As You Are" are both neatly crafted audio delights. No doubt those who want louder guitars and edgier sensibilities won't connect with Sixteen Cities. But for fans who enjoy hearing rock strong in melody with lyrics that speak of passionate faith without resorting to language of Zion, this is a record label debut you'll want to investigate.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Just Wanna Dance [Listen]
2. Save Me From Myself [Listen]
3. Sing Along [Listen]
4. Pray You Through [Listen]
5. Only After You [Listen]
6. Come As You Are [Listen]
7. Innoncent [Listen]
8. Captured By Your Love [Listen]
9. Someone's Work Of Art [Listen]
10. Bleeding For You [Listen]
11. Winter [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.