Strange Occurrence - Another Day To Start Again

Wednesday 1st January 2003
Strange Occurrence - Another Day To Start Again
Strange Occurrence - Another Day To Start Again

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Flicker FLD2607
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

It’s amazing how many good rock bands now populate the US scene. But there’s always room for another one and this team, from (I think) Tennessee, have all the essential elements, a raspingly effective lead singer, guitars recorded good and loud and songs and riffs that you know will get through to you once you’ve heard them a few times on the radio. Since the post P.O.D. hard music boom, bands like this are recorded with a lot more edge than of old and producer Jon Ervie does an excellent job in catching all the full throttle excitement of those guitars while songs like “Prisoner” and “Reach” are full-on Jesus-died-on-the-cross-for-your-sins stuff. Of its type, excellent. One final morsel for hardcore anoraks: when I was searching the internet for basic biographic information on Strange Occurrence (frustratingly, and absurdly, not available at the time of surfing), I DID unearth one strange fact. ‘Another Day To Start Again’, originally on the band’s own Streetroots label, was released as a full length album and as an EP with the shorter version having the only-on-EP song “Backmaskme”. Shame we missed out on that.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Sunrise [Listen]
2. Reach [Listen]
3. Prisoner [Listen]
4. Mask Me [Listen]
5. Fear [Listen]
6. Runaway [Listen]
7. Love’s Labor Found (Kendra’s Song) [Listen]
8. Inside [Listen]
9. Dark Matter [Listen]
10. Fetter [Listen]
11. Sunset (Sunrise Acoustic Mix) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.