Terry Townsend - The Blessed Project

Tuesday 1st August 2000
Terry Townsend - The Blessed Project
Terry Townsend - The Blessed Project

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Independent Soloe 772
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Sweet soul music from Alabama-based Tony Townsend with plenty of musical spice to send shivers down your spine. "Blessed" with a voice that can soar and swoop, and surrounded by enough vocal talent to make the whole project shine, Townsend's debut is a splash of musical sunshine with gospel lyrics and ministry that is inspirational. My two favourite songs come in the middle of the album. There's the sax-filled encouragement of "It's Gonna Be Alright" with its lilting rhythms, jazzy piano and soulful vocals. And it's the vocal performances on "Seasons" that are outstanding, as Tony duels with Melanie Bridgeforth. The album is predominantly laid back in approach, barely breaking into a sweat, other than on the opening cut "Stand Up!" and the excellent "Blessed" which is even given a dancey remix. But then if you love melodious saxophone drenched gospel soul, you won't find much lo complain about here!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Stand Up [Listen]
2. Amazing Love [Listen]
3. Blessed [Listen]
4. Shadow Of The Cross [Listen]
5. Call On Jesus [Listen]
6. Seasons [Listen]
7. It's Gonna Be Alright [Listen]
8. I'll Run For You [Listen]
9. Dear Lord [Listen]
10. Better By And By [Listen]
11. Rise Again [Listen]
12. Blessed Remix [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.