Testimony Band - A Message To The World

Friday 1st October 1999
Testimony Band - A Message To The World
Testimony Band - A Message To The World

RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 1278-27154
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Like thier other album, 'The Day Is Coming', California's Testimony Band follow the formula of starting with a rocky number before slipping into more middle of the road acoustic pop fare. Singer Lawri Chassion's voice is pleasant enough and her songwriting continues its pursuit of heaven whilst retaining a charm - oh that some of the big name Nashville bands would write songs this direct. Again it's the simple ballads that work best and cover the evident lack of budget and 'Heal Our Wounds' ministers deeply. 'Walk In The Light' has some nicely understated rockier guitar underlining Lawri's vocalising. Again the band are let down by a bit of clumsy production work which is a shame.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Turn Back The Tide [Listen]
2. River Of Love [Listen]
3. The Battle [Listen]
4. Heal Our Wounds, O Lord [Listen]
5. Walk In The Light [Listen]
6. He Cares For You [Listen]
7. A View From The Other Side [Listen]
8. Turn Around [Listen]
9. Message To The World [Listen]
10. Promise Land [Listen]
11. I Want To See You There [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.