The Consolers - The Consolers Collection 1952-62

Published Wednesday 15th April 2015
The Consolers - The Consolers Collection 1952-62
The Consolers - The Consolers Collection 1952-62

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 155248-22838
LABEL: Acrobat Music ADDCD3119

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Cross Rhythms have long been aficionados of Florida's Sullivan and Iola Pugh, otherwise known as The Consolers. Through the '50s and early '60s their recordings for Nashboro Records were stirring examples of raw, uplifting gospel and throughout their long career they never changed much stylistically. In an era when the sound of gospel was changing first with the frenetic fire of the quartets and then with the increasingly sophisticated rhythms of soul-influenced production, The Consolers stayed true to their rural sound, once described in Bil Carpenter's Uncloudy Days: The Gospel Music Encyclopedia as "With just a guitar and two roughshod vocals, this married duo provided the public with an array of plaintive sermonettes, praise tunes and guilt-laden songs about wayward children." If you've yet to encounter their music this 37-song compilation is a brilliant place to start bringing together such classics as "How Long Has It Been Since You've Been Home" (both the 1954 and 1961 recordings) and "Give Me My Flowers" together with rare early recordings made when they were starting off as the Miami Soul Stirrers. I'd like to have seen "Waiting For My Child" (a great song later covered by Pop Staples) included but that's just being picky. Compiler Sacre has done a wonderful job and there are finely researched sleevenotes from Eli 'Paperboy' Reed. Thoroughly recommended.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. My Soul Can't Rest Contented [Listen]
2. Jesus Precious King [Listen]
3. For Ever And Ever [Listen]
4. Fix Me Jesus [Listen]
5. Wade In The Water [Listen]
6. How Long Is It Since Youíve Been Home [Listen]
7. Nobody Knows [Listen]
8. Give Me My Flowers [Listen]
9. I Cried To The Lord [Listen]
10. Iím Gonna Use Just What I Got [Listen]
11. Let Jesus Come In [Listen]
12. I Remember The Bridge [Listen]
13. Revival Time [Listen]
14. When Others Fail [Listen]
15. I Shall Not Want [Listen]
16. Glad To Be In The Number [Listen]
17. It May Be The Last Time [Listen]
18. God Will Take Care [Listen]
19. Help Me To Understand [Listen]
20. Every Christian Mother [Listen]
21. Another Day's Journey [Listen]
22. Some Sweet Day After A While [Listen]
23. Never Could Have Made It Pt. 1 [Listen]
24. Never Could Have Made It Pt. 2 [Listen]
25. By The Help Of The Lord [Listen]
26. Almighty God [Listen]
27. I Know What That Means [Listen]
28. After The Cloud Rolls Away [Listen]
29. Goin' Across The River [Listen]
30. Glory Land [Listen]
31. Waiting At The River [Listen]
32. Say A Prayer For Me [Listen]
33. Over Yonder [Listen]
34. God Makes No Mistakes [Listen]
35. How Long Is It Since You've Been Home (LP Version) [Listen]
36. Long Long Journey [Listen]
37. My Soul's Salvation [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room