Thi'sl - Chronicles Of A X-Hustler

Published Tuesday 6th April 2010
Thi'sl - Chronicles Of A X-Hustler
Thi'sl - Chronicles Of A X-Hustler

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 92364-16447
LABEL: X-Hustler Music

Reviewed by Mark Sherwood

Travis Tyler aka Thi'sl (which stands for "This House I Shall Live" the concept of the Holy Spirit dwelling in us) is now onto his fourth album. Thi'sl is currently getting airplay on the Cross Rhythms stations for the hugely powerful "I Hate You (Crack)" From the first track you realise this is going to be a no nonsense straight-in-your- face album as Thi'sl raps his autobiographical song about being introduced crack at age 12. Thi'sl then exposes the downside of the life of a hustler instead of the glorification it receives from many of the mainstream rappers portray. "On My Grind" featuring Brotha Tone bangs hard while Thi'sl raps his passion about bringing the Gospel to the street. "I Forgive You" is a plea to a locked up felon to turn to God, it's especially poignant as he murdered one of Thi'sl's close friends. Thi'sl also sings of his love for his "baby girl", his wife, and all they have been through. "I Ain't Turning Back" is the last track and more than that, is a statement of purpose for Thi'sl's future. A magnificent set of authentic, street-based songs.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Set The Scene - Birth [Listen]
2. I Hate You - Crack [Listen]
3. Windows Down [Listen]
4. On My Grind - Featuring Brotha Tone [Listen]
5. Lifeline [Listen]
6. I Forgive You [Listen]
7. Baby Girl - Featuring Pastor AD3 [Listen]
8. Urban Missionary [Listen]
9. Set The Scene - Lil Homie [Listen]
10. Picture On A Shirt [Listen]
11. You're The One - Featuring Pastor AD3 [Listen]
12. Indentity Shift - Brothers [Listen]
13. Daddy Did Me [Listen]
14. Still Standing Here - Featuring Fitzgerald Of Du C Zon [Listen]
15. Set The Scene - Redemption [Listen]
16. I Ain't Turning Back - Featuring Flame [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.