Tina Campbell - It's Personal

Published Saturday 27th June 2015
Tina Campbell - It's Personal
Tina Campbell - It's Personal

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 157465-23144
LABEL: Gee Tree Creative

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Having the difficulties of your marriage exposed through reality TV would be enough to make many an artist run for cover. But as is well documented, Tina has embraced the challenge, publicly admitted her faults in the marital breakdown and bounced back with this solo debut which in its own way is as much a creative triumph as that of her sister Erica's 'Help' album. Surprisingly, 'It's Personal' opens with a '90s sounding noir-ish R&B ballad, "Holy Spirit". A humble prayer of self-surrender, the lyrics ring true: "My circumstance is urgent/I'm in a real bad space./And I don't know what to do/So here I am Jesus and I sure need you." There's much more to enjoy after such a moving start. "Love, Love, Love" is a duet with the legendary Stevie Wonder while "Who Oh Oh" has a pulsating rhythm which one reviewer suggested sounded Jamaican and another African. (Personally I think it's a hybrid of both.) "I'm Everything With Ya (ftg Thomasina 'Honey' Atkins)" - yep, Tina's daughter - has a fiery, old school gospel feel while bringing in her husband Teddy for the Memphis soul-flavoured "Speak The Word" is both a brave move in view of the recent back story and a creative tour-de-force thanks to the gorgeous horn section. The album closes with Tina literally praying over a piano backing and all but the most jaundiced of listeners will be moved by a brave, and deeply personal, album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Holy Spirit [Listen]
2. Only Jesus Did It [Listen]
3. Love Love Love Ftg Stevie Wonder [Listen]
4. Woh Oh Oh [Listen]
5. Life [Listen]
6. Destiny [Listen]
7. I'll Wait [Listen]
8. I Call You Jesus [Listen]
9. Speak The Word Ftg Teddy Campbell [Listen]
10. I'm Everything With Ya Ftg Thomasina -Honey- Atkins [Listen]
11. Forevermore [Listen]
12. The Prayer-Aaron's Worship [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.