TobyMac - (Portable Sounds) (Limited Deluxe Edition)

Published Saturday 22nd March 2008
TobyMac - (Portable Sounds) (Limited Deluxe Edition)
TobyMac - (Portable Sounds) (Limited Deluxe Edition)

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 22335-13674
LABEL: Forefront 5099950608027
RELEASE DATE: 2007-11-30
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Tim Holden

Toby Mac's third solo outing continues to chart the rise of this phenomenal pop/rock/rap talent. With five nominations in this year's Dove Awards, '(Portable Sounds)' has proven to be Toby's best selling album since departing from dc Talk and it is easy to hear why. The music is of a stunning quality, the songwriting well observed, excellently arranged and produced and with a consistency across the album that comes from only collaborating with two other producers this time. However, do not expect '(Portable Sounds)' to be 13 songs sounding the same. The band behind Toby Mac goes by the wonderful name of Diverse City and the musical styles certainly are diverse. There is an underlying rock groove with some great rap/DJ lines - as would be expected from Toby - and the sound is always full of interest, from strings to stunning drum and bass lines and always with complex vocal lines weaving in and out of each other and the instrument melodies. The album is so full of life that it is very hard to not pump up the volume and hit the repeat button. This Limited Deluxe Edition comes with an extra DVD with a set of cool interviews and five of Toby's short form videos from the latest, "Boomin'", through to the older "Irene", "Get This Party Started" and "Extreme Days".

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. One World (Featuring Siti Monroe) [Listen]
2. Made To Love [Listen]
3. Boomin'-Opera Trip [Listen]
4. I'm For You [Listen]
5. Face Of The Earth-Chuck @ Artist Development [Listen]
6. No Ordinary Love (Featuring Nirva Dorsaint-Ready) [Listen]
7. Ignition [Listen]
8. Hype Man (truDog '07) [Listen]
9. Suddenly [Listen]
10. All In (Letting Go)-Mr. Talkbox [Listen]
11. Feelin' So Fly [Listen]
12. No Signal [Listen]
13. Lose My Soul (Featuring Kirk Franklin & Mandisa)-Afterparty [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Courts of Praise
Get close to God, be extravagant in declaring your love for Him in our Prayer Room