Twilight Meadow - The Worlds We Discovered

Published Friday 18th August 2017
Twilight Meadow - The Worlds We Discovered
Twilight Meadow  - The Worlds We Discovered

STYLE: Dance/Electronic
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 160310-23723

Reviewed by Andy Shaw

Twilight Meadow is the moniker used by Nashville based EDM producer Matthew Parker for a mellower side project. Parker has gained a reputation for heavy beats and epic drops producing high energy dance floor fillers but here he experiments with different sounds, different instrumentation and different musical influences. Described as "dream electronic", there is a very reflective and contemplative feel about 'The Worlds We Discovered' as if floating through a dream world. There are clear comparisons to be drawn with the likes of Owl City, perhaps most notably through the swirling synths and laid back beats of the title opener. "Sleep In Peace" follows with a looping synth line underpinning almost childlike lullaby ("Sleep my child and dream the night away"). The production really manages to evoke emotion through clever use of instrumentation building up layered soundscapes without ever being tempted to overcomplicate the arrangement. "Drifting" is a great example of this with a piano intro being joined by swirling synth and string lines evoking a feeling of drifting gently down a river. Lyrically there is a clear focus on the wonder and nature of God, often calling on simple metaphors from nature ("faithful like the morning sun this is our love"). The final tracks on this set are remixes which add little to the album's impact. Anyway, if you are in need of some calm in your life this is certainly a musical dream worth having.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Worlds We Discovered [Listen]
2. Sleep In Peace [Listen]
3. Drifting [Listen]
4. Rise, Sun, Rise Ftg Anna Criss [Listen]
5. Homewad Bound [Listen]
6. Autumn Forever [Listen]
7. Never Ever Ever [Listen]
8. Galaxies Apart Ftg The Sailor's Lantern [Listen]
9. Dreamy Eyes Ftg Sunroof [Listen]
10. Winter Froze The Flower [Listen]
11. Mystery Mountain [Listen]
12. Galaxies Apart Ftg The Saolors Lantern (Jacob Stanifer Remix) [Listen]
13. The Worlds We Discovered (Nasturtia Remix) [Listen]
14. The Worlds We Discovered (Raal Remix) [Listen]
15. Never Ever Ever (Matthew Parker Remix) [Listen]
16. The Worlds We Discovered (Matthew Parker Remix) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.