VRose - Forever After

Published Saturday 13th June 2015
VRose - Forever After
VRose - Forever After

RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 151200-22673
LABEL: Clear Sight Music 0829569837021
RELEASE DATE: 2014-05-20
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

When this was released in 2014 we felt sure this would be a top album. Cross Rhythms have long been a fan of Vienna Rose Da Re and the delicious vocal hooks she's provided on many a Christian hip-hop hit. But as it turned out 'Forever After' didn't really connect with this reviewer at least. Clearly V.Rose felt the need to expand beyond hip-hop and though there are some well-known rappers guesting on some tracks - Flame, Da'T.R.U.T.H., KJ-52, Shonlock - many of the cuts and the packaging seem targeted at the teen pop market. But here she's unconvincing with hooks that aren't memorable enough and shrill BVs which are more irritating than catchy. Also the production ideas don't always work, like stopping and starting "Nothing For Love" which makes the track almost unlistenable. V.Rose has a great voice and her lyrics show a commendable focus on the Lord. But in truth 'Forever After' falls between the pop and hip-hop fields and won't satisfy many followers of either.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. No Better U (Glee Club Intro) [Listen]
2. No Better U [Listen]
3. Nothing For Love [Listen]
4. Am I Trending Ftg Flame [Listen]
5. Forever Endeavor Ftg Shonlock [Listen]
6. When He Finds You [Listen]
7. Worshipping Tonight Ftg DA T.R.U.T.H. [Listen]
8. Forget About The World [Listen]
9. Crown Thief [Listen]
10. . -( [Listen]
11. Tortured Mind [Listen]
12. King Kong's Skyline [Listen]
13. Bonus Track- Turn Up Your Light Ftg KJ-52 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.