Warr Acres - Hope Will Rise

Published Monday 18th November 2013
Warr Acres - Hope Will Rise
Warr Acres - Hope Will Rise

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 145802-21101
LABEL: Dream
RELEASE DATE: 2013-10-29

Reviewed by Paul S Ganney

An odd name to UK ears, Warr Acres is a city in Oklahoma and the band (formerly known as VMusic) started out as a high school worship team there. Lyrically their roots show (not a bad thing - there's no doubt what they stand for), but the overall sound has developed to a more energetic pop/rock sound, in a Kelly Clarkson/Taylor Swift sort of way (the intro to "Light Up The Night" with its rock guitars and electronic whistle'd motif demonstrates this well). That said they cover quite a few genres, sometimes feeling more like a compilation album (but therefore never dull). I loved the string stabs and Muse-like keyboard riff leading into "Beautifully Complete". There are some quieter numbers in here, the title track having a real uplifting chorus that I could imagine stadiums singing along to but "Psalm 27" is the best of these, led very well by piano and is very well arranged, working through energies and taking you with them. As with most pop/rock, there's a feeling that you've heard some of it before (it's called 'popular' for a reason after all) but I couldn't help but feel I actually had heard "This Beautiful Life" before, complete with arrangement - and the intro to "So Much Greater" was pure Snow Patrol (but with a much better chorus). The whole CD is really well produced, played and arranged. They clearly know what they're doing and they're doing it well.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Pulse [Listen]
2. Freedom Fall (feat. Jonathan Thulin) [Listen]
3. Light Up The Night [Listen]
4. Beautifully Complete [Listen]
5. This Beautiful Life [Listen]
6. Hope Will Rise [Listen]
7. Lovesick (feat. Cindy Cruse Ratcliff) [Listen]
8. So Much Greater [Listen]
9. Come To Jesus [Listen]
10. All Around [Listen]
11. Psalm 27 [Listen]
12. Nobody Else [Listen]
13. Linger [Listen]
14. Here At Your Feet [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.