Bob Dylan - Trouble No More: The Bootleg Series Vol 13 1979-1982

Published Thursday 21st December 2017
Bob Dylan - Trouble No More: The Bootleg Series Vol 13 1979-1982
Bob Dylan - Trouble No More: The Bootleg Series Vol 13 1979-1982

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 168103-26384

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

In 1978 Bob Dylan converted to Christianity, was discipled by a Vineyard church and soon his new faith revealed itself in his songwriting. From1979-1981 he released three albums, 'Slow Train Coming', 'Saved' and 'Shot Of Love', that are considered his "gospel period" and finally the 'Bootleg Series' brings to the surface rare tracks and live recordings made around the times of these albums in a lavish nine-disc package. People forget that this was one of the major artists of the era suddenly writing some of the most significant Christian songs ever recorded and nearly 40 years later, the power of Dylan's songs have lost none of their spiritual impact. So what you get here are studio outtakes from his gospel albums and a selection of live versions of songs that are familiar and unreleased songs which were part of his gospel sets. With eight discs of music, there are multiple versions of some of these songs and it's interesting to see how songs develop in a live setting. Dylan's songwriting in this era created some beautiful gospel music, especially on the tracks put to vinyl on 'Saved' and although a lot of fans struggled with the spiritual content, this set demonstrated that Dylan never sang with as much conviction ever again. The ninth disc in this collection is a DVD combining some live performances from the 1980 tour with sermons performed by actor Michael Shannon, scripted from ideas suggested by Dylan himself. The boxed set includes extensive sleeve notes and photographs and the result is an immersive experience though the price of over 100 will ensure it is only Dylan connoisseurs/completists who will investigate this fascinating raid of the archives.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Slow Train [Listen]
2. Gotta Serve Somebody [Listen]
3. I Believe In You [Listen]
4. When You Gonna Wake Up- [Listen]
5. When He Returns [Listen]
6. Man Gave Names To All The Animals [Listen]
7. Precious Angel [Listen]
8. Covenant Woman [Listen]
9. Gonna Change My Way Of Thinking [Listen]
10. Do Right To Me Baby (Do Unto Others) [Listen]
11. Solid Rock [Listen]
12. What Can I Do For You- [Listen]
13. Saved [Listen]
14. In The Garden [Listen]
15. Slow Train (Live 29 June 1981) [Listen]
16. Gotta Serve Somebody (Live June) [Listen]
17. Ain't No Man Righteous, No Not One [Listen]
18. Saving Grace [Listen]
19. Blessed Is The Name (Live Nov) [Listen]
20. Solid Rock [Listen]
21. Are You Ready- [Listen]
22. Pressing On (Live 6 Nov 1979) [Listen]
23. Shot Of Love (Live25 July198...) [Listen]
24. Dead Man, Dead Man (Live June) [Listen]
25. Watered-Down Love (Live12 June) [Listen]
26. In The Summertime (Live 21 Oct) [Listen]
27. The Groom's Still Waiting At The Alter [Listen]
28. Caribbean Wind (Live 12 Nov) [Listen]
29. Every Grain Of Sand (Live Nov) [Listen]
30. Slow Train (Soundcheck) [Listen]
31. Do Right To Me Baby (Do Unto Others) [Listen]
32. Help Me Understand (Soundcheck) [Listen]
33. Gonna Change My Way Of Thinking [Listen]
34. Gotta Serve Somebody (Take 1) [Listen]
35. When He Returns (Take 2) [Listen]
36. Ain't No Man Righteous, No Not [Listen]
37. Trouble In Mind (Take 1) [Listen]
38. Ye Shall Be Changed (Outtake) [Listen]
39. Covenant Woman (Take 3) [Listen]
40. Stand By Faith (Rehearsal) [Listen]
41. I Will Love Him (Live Apr. 19, [Listen]
42. Jesus Is The One (Live July 17, [Listen]
43. City Of Gold (Live Nov. 22, 198 [Listen]
44. Thief On The Cross (Live Nov. 1 [Listen]
45. Pressing On (Take 1) [Listen]
46. Slow Train (Rehearsal With Horn) [Listen]
47. Gotta Serve Somebody (Rehearsal [Listen]
48. Making A Liar Out Of Me (Rehearsal) [Listen]
49. Yonder Comes Sin (Rehearsal) [Listen]
50. Cover Down, Pray Through (Live [Listen]
51. Rise Again [Listen]
52. Ain't Gonna Go To Hell For Anybody [Listen]
53. The Groom's Still Waiting At The Alter [Listen]
54. Caribbean Wind (Rehearsal) [Listen]
55. You Changed My Life (Take 4) [Listen]
56. Shot Of Love (Outtake) [Listen]
57. Down Love (Outtake) [Listen]
58. Dead Man, Dead Man (Outtake) [Listen]
59. Every Grain Of Sand (Rehearsal) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room