Bob Kilpatrick - The Art Of Being You: Songs

Published Monday 30th April 2012
Bob Kilpatrick - The Art Of Being You: Songs
Bob Kilpatrick - The Art Of Being You: Songs

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 120210-18947
LABEL: Fair Oaks

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

The problem when writing a review of an artist who has written a couple of worship song classics - in Bob's case "(In My Life) Lord, Be Glorified" and "Here Am I (Send Me To The Nations)" - is that the reviews will inevitably begin by pointing out the fact (blow me, that's what I've just done!). Today Bob is extraordinarily prolific, turning out a stream of independent albums from his home studio in Fair Oaks, California yet still finding time to write books, like the satirical A Field Guide To Evangelicals And Their Habitat. In fact, it was his 2010 volume The Art Of Being You: How To Live As God's Masterpiece which inspired this particular music set. If you've not yet read Bob's book (and I recommend you do) it's a thought provoking work to encourage us to view God as a creative artist rather than a master mechanic and in doing so help us to see ourselves as the Lord's finest work rather than broken entities in continual need of fixing. The songs here reflect directly or indirectly on the themes of the book and many are excellent, "Abandoned" with its smooth hook and "Mud I Was" with its world music arrangement being particularly memorable. But it has to be said that one or two are well below par (eg, Bob is flat on the lower registers of "A Cup Of Water") and the wide range of arrangements and styles (rock songs, worship numbers, pop ballads) and variable sound quality makes one feel this album is a compilation of tracks from a wide range of sessions. But be that as it may, there's no doubting Bob's ability to pen and sing stimulating material and one's interest throughout the 18 songs here seldom wanes.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. God Is Good [Listen]
2. Abandoned [Listen]
3. A Cup Of Water [Listen]
4. Mirror In The Sky [Listen]
5. Mud I Was [Listen]
6. I'm A Fighter [Listen]
7. I Will Still Believe You [Listen]
8. Pull Down The Blue Sky [Listen]
9. Out Here [Listen]
10. See The World Go By [Listen]
11. The Magdalen Fragment [Listen]
12. Hoedown [Listen]
13. It's So Simple [Listen]
14. River To The Sea [Listen]
15. Why Don't I Give It To You- [Listen]
16. Wounds Become Windows [Listen]
17. This Ritual [Listen]
18. Rise Up My Love [Listen]
19. Bring Them Home [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room