Bruce Cockburn - Anything Anytime Anywhere: Singles 1979-2002

Wednesday 1st May 2002
Bruce Cockburn - Anything Anytime Anywhere: Singles 1979-2002
Bruce Cockburn - Anything Anytime Anywhere: Singles 1979-2002

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Cooking Vinyl COOKCD169

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer


Canadian Cockburn is the sort of singer/songwriter that discerning music fans rave about but here in the UK he still has only an enthusiastic cult following. This singles collection excludes his first nine albums but gathers together some of his core music and although he's never had a British hit, it acts as an introduction to his brilliant music. Spiritually, he occupies similar territory to U2 and Martyn Joseph with occasional references to the concerns of faith but a lot of regard for wider socio-political issues. Here his vitriol is reserved for environmentalists ("If A Tree Falls") and nations and regimes who use strong arm tactics and bully others ("If I Had A Rocket Launcher") and the money people whose global policies only perpetuate poverty ("Call It Democracy"). Although he states he believes in peace, it seems his anger and frustration make articulate swipes at the powers that be. There are tender songs too including "Last Night Of The World", "Wondering Where The Lions Are" and "The Coldest Night Of The Year" which all remind me of his earlier rootsier music. The collection is bookended by two new songs - "My Beat" opens it and the title cut closes a solid snapshot of Cockburn's work but with 28 albums and counting, perhaps I'm not surprised that a couple of my favourites have gone MIA here.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. My Beat [Listen]
2. Wondering Where The Lions Are [Listen]
3. Tokyo [Listen]
4. The Coldest Night Of The Year [Listen]
5. The Trouble With Normal [Listen]
6. Lovers In A Dangerous Time [Listen]
7. If I Had A Rocket Launcher [Listen]
8. Call It Democracy [Listen]
9. Waiting For A Miracle [Listen]
10. If A Tree Falls [Listen]
11. A Dream Like Mine [Listen]
12. Listen For The Laugh [Listen]
13. Night Train [Listen]
14. Pacing The Cage [Listen]
15. Last Night Of The World [Listen]
16. Anything Anytime Anywhere [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room