Chevelle - Wonder What's Next

Saturday 1st November 2003
Chevelle - Wonder What's Next
Chevelle - Wonder What's Next

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Epic 5105312

Reviewed by Tony Cummings


In his article this issue, Justin Style wrote about Chevelle’s ability to “blend ambience and chaos together as if they were coffee and cream.” That’s exactly what they do, these Chicago brothers displaying a breathtaking grasp of dynamics as they fuse passages of intricate delicacy with sections where Pete Loeffler threatens to permanently shred his vocal chords and the guitars roar from the speakers like hungry Dobermans. If their rather banal determination not to be labelled a “Christian band” might irritate our more zealous readers, there are in fact plenty of signs of faith on this fine album, which has now gone platinum Stateside, with “Grab Thy Hand” nothing less than a song addressed to the Lord. Production by the legendary GG Garth Richardson is stunning with Pro Tools giving everything pristine clarity bringing out all the sweep and dynamics of the Loeffler brothers’ songs. An outstanding album deserving of its US success.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Family System [Listen]
2. Comfortable Liar [Listen]
3. Send The Pain Below [Listen]
4. Closure [Listen]
5. The Red [Listen]
6. Wonder What's Next [Listen]
7. Don't Fake This [Listen]
8. Forfeit [Listen]
9. Grab Thy Hand [Listen]
10. An Evening With El Diablo [Listen]
11. One Lonely Visitor [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.