David Lyon - Beyond

Published Friday 15th April 2005
David Lyon - Beyond
David Lyon - Beyond

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 12784-2273
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Dougie Adam

Even before the release of his second self-financed album DL's name may already be familiar to readers given his previous work with The Electrics, Celtic Praise, Stephen Fischbacher and Yvonne Whitty (now married to Mr Lyon and trading under her married name!). When I first heard the album I was a bit concerned when I realised that here was a worship project which doesn't fit comfortably into any pigeon hole category like "Celtic" or "rock". Over recent weeks the CD has rarely been off the hi-fi and I am happy to report that the album is a grower and I am now completely hooked from track one through to 12 and it is all the better for sounding distinct from your average worship album. DL is a fine writer who has attempted to write and perform worship songs which avoid many of the over-used clichés and his songs have the happy knack of saying exactly what he means. 'Beyond' is well produced and features original and tasteful playing throughout with excellent lead vocals provided by, among others, Yvonne Lyon. However the strength of the album lies not in the occasional sonic surprise (harmonicas, mandolins and real strings on a self-financed album) or in the quality of the playing or production (Ross Hamilton once again does a sterling job in these areas). Song after song is thoughtfully written. Lyrics long after God and celebrate his goodness and wonder. On its own this CD could assist an individual's personal devotions and I am certain that a number of these songs could translate well for congregational use in the hands of your average decent praise band. Here's hoping that the album's originality doesn't stand in the way of it finding an audience, and here's hoping that there is more of the same to come from DL in future and with some co-writing with Sammy Horner and Chris Bowater going on it seems we may not have too long to wait to hear more songs he has helped pen.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. This Cross [Listen]
2. King Of Wonder [Listen]
3. Where Can I Go- [Listen]
4. Stay [Listen]
5. All You Are [Listen]
6. Change My Heart [Listen]
7. Distant No Longer [Listen]
8. Adoration [Listen]
9. Be Exalted [Listen]
10. Anything & Everything [Listen]
11. Rescue [Listen]
12. Forgiving Love [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.