Joanna - My Chains Fell Off: Songs Of The Blood And The Cross

Monday 1st February 1999
Joanna - My Chains Fell Off: Songs Of The Blood And The Cross
Joanna - My Chains Fell Off: Songs Of The Blood And The Cross

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 10362-20215
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Joanna Barratt's album is subtitled 'Songs Of The Blood And The Cross' and that is the ministry focus.  Choosing a strong selection of familiar and new material ranging from "When I Survey", "Old Rugged Cross" to Kendrick's "Amazing Love".  At first listen it's possible to peg this as another pretty straightforward MOR "inspirational" album but a deeper attention to detail on the album brings some rich rewards.  Joanna is to be commended on creating a stream of theme-related songs that flows well into a challenging listen.  You cannot escape the wonder and awe of the death of Jesus nor the need for a response.  Particularly stunning is the dramatisation of "Crucifixion" and the focussed intro and outros to the albums that draw huge thematic strands together.  There's even an appearance by Norman Barratt (no relation!) adding some fluid guitar playing in a couple of places.  The one weakness is that just occasionally Joanna's voice is a little overbearing when she is singing in the upper ranges of her voice.  Easy listening and inspirational with plenty to communicate.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Blood [Listen]
2. Lest Forget - Draw Me Nearer [Listen]
3. O Love Divine [Listen]
4. When I Survey [Listen]
5. Old Rugged Cross [Listen]
6. Crucifixion [Listen]
7. This Man Jesus [Listen]
8. Amazing Love [Listen]
9. My Chains Fell Off [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.