Jon Gibson - The Man Inside

Tuesday 1st February 2000
Jon Gibson - The Man Inside
Jon Gibson - The Man Inside

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: B-Rite 701265726X
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

His albums for Frontline Records during the '80s established Jon as possibly the most popular blue-eyed soul singer carrying a Christian message. However, various record company wrangles have meant that he's been in almost semi-retirement since the release of his fine Love Education album in 1996. This come back project is one of his finest, full of sinuous urban rhythms and demonstrating again (ha! the singer's Stevie Wonder-style voice is one of the most soulful in the Christian scene. His clique of fans will leap to get this. Occasionally, I found the drum programming a tad monotonous (a problem with a lot of hip hop orientated R&B) but his soulfully sensuous voice is as arresting as ever while his ability to breathe warmth and passion into songs of faith and social comment is as impeccable as ever.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Man Inside [Listen]
2. Get It Together [Listen]
3. The Best In Me [Listen]
4. The Prayer (Interlude) [Listen]
5. Don't Ever [Listen]
6. Fly With The Wind [Listen]
7. There For You [Listen]
8. God Will Find Ya [Listen]
9. Layin' In The Street [Listen]
10. Coming Home (Interlude) [Listen]
11. Your Love Is Like That [Listen]
12. The Call (Interlude) [Listen]
13. Gone With You [Listen]
14. Who Are You Fooling- [Listen]
15. Let It Be Done [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.