Json - Braille

Published Friday 12th July 2013
Json - Braille
Json - Braille

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 141870-20732
LABEL: Lamp Mode Recordings
RELEASE DATE: 2013-06-18

Reviewed by Mark Sherwood

Now on his fifth album, the Iowa-based rapper delivers another powerful set. The title track, produced by Spec, starts with a gentle piano riff then builds into a punchy cut featuring vocals from Lori of CBF (Confess and Be Free). The lyric speaks of having faith in Christ even when we don't see him. Then the album blasts into "Passing", "Work" and "Play My Song" (the latter with the emcee on whose albums Json has featured, Flame). The standard moves up a gear with the excellent "Can't Let Go" with guest B.Reith and an exhortation to hold on to God in tough times. Another standout track, which would fit well on the radio, is "Stars" where Json appeals to a family member to check out the message of Christ. We then have the clever track "Benjamin Button" which references the popular movie to reflect on how some of us grow older but never actually mature while "Secrets 2" bravely tackles the subject of sexual abuse.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Braille Ftg Lori Of C.B.F. [Listen]
2. Passing Ftg Serge & K.B. [Listen]
3. Work Ftg Spec [Listen]
4. Play My Song Ftg Flame [Listen]
5. Can't Let Go Ftg B. Reith & S.O. [Listen]
6. Benjamin Button [Listen]
7. Intoxicated Ftg Lori Of C.B.F. [Listen]
8. Stars Ftg Demond [Listen]
9. Son Hit Me Ftg Derek Minor & Bizzle [Listen]
10. Hold Nothing Back Ftg Benjah [Listen]
11. Secrets Interlude [Listen]
12. Secrets (Part 2) Ftg J.R. [Listen]
13. Trust You Ftg Julianna Zobrist [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.