Json - Growing Pains

Published Tuesday 25th September 2012
Json - Growing Pains
Json - Growing Pains

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 124127-19203
LABEL: Lamp Mode Recordings

Reviewed by Steve Hayes

Json is with Lamp Mode Recordings from Philadelphia, USA. Json brings an honest project, mixing varied instrumentals. The album cover nods to Funkadelic - 'Maggot Brain' but the content is Godly. Starting with the truth of how God is the potter and we are the clay, we have the declaratory "Making Me Over" featuring AD3 and Tedashii as all three rappers flow in harmony. Lecrae guests on "2 Human" as Json shares intimately, reminding us he's not just an artist - but is a human - husband, father. Themes are carried on and developed in the smooth and strings-based "Held It Down" where Json works with Butta-P and Ron Kenoly Jr to use the picture of marriage to reflect God's love and bring this home by rapping from God's perspective, "Look at my Son and point out a better picture to me." Continuing in the uplifting mainstream sound is "It's Alright" featuring CCM outfit Mikeschair as the MC brings God's assurance and re-assurance. "Behind The Clouds" is also similarly mainstream, contrasting with the pulsating hip-hop of "We Not Folding" and "Brand New". "Secrets" featuring JR is a powerful track exposing the disturbing nature of sexual abuse, finding redemption in the truth of Heaven where everything will be made new.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Intro [Listen]
2. Making Me Over [Listen]
3. 2 Human [Listen]
4. GP - Interlude 1 [Listen]
5. Held It Down [Listen]
6. It's Alright [Listen]
7. I The Beast [Listen]
8. Brand New [Listen]
9. GP - Interlude 2 [Listen]
10. My Joy [Listen]
11. Behind The Clouds [Listen]
12. We Not Folding [Listen]
13. Secrets - Interlude [Listen]
14. Secrets [Listen]
15. Credits Roll [Listen]
16. GP - Interlude 3 [Listen]
17. Goodbye [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.