Kevin Max - Cotes D'Armor: True Rebels

Published Monday 18th October 2010
Kevin Max - Cotes D'Armor: True Rebels
Kevin Max - Cotes D'Armor: True Rebels

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 96007-17077
LABEL: dPulse
RELEASE DATE: 2010-08-24

Reviewed by Susanne Molina

The one time dc Talk man continues his eclectic musical travels with this latest release. Down the years the veteran has moved from edgy rock to gutsy acoustic to blues gospel revivalism and now, on this latest excursion, takes in electronica! While it's still clear that he'll always be a rocker at heart, most of 'Cotes D'Armour' offers avant garde explorations of various techno sounds mixed up with a hint of rock thanks to some satisfyingly savage guitar work from Adrian Belew, coming through here and there. Fans of the purer rock side of Max will still find true pleasure in songs like "On Yer Bike!", "Walking Through The Walls" and "Saint Of Lonely Hearts". The song "Future Love Song" (already known from the album 'Crashing Gates' where it is presented as a slower rock piece) is here redone as a weighty techno extravaganza, which works amazingly well and actually puts more severity into the message of the song. Other tracks are even further out explorations of electronica. Not for the faint hearted, this is still a bold and experimental work of art from an intelligent musician seemingly determined not to tread safe paths of radio friendly commercialism.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. On Yer Bike [Listen]
2. 2099 [Listen]
3. Out Of The Wild [Listen]
4. Walking Through Walls Just To Ge To You [Listen]
5. Even When It Hurts [Listen]
6. Magadhi Prakrit [Listen]
7. Baby I'm Your Man [Listen]
8. We Love Dangerous [Listen]
9. Train To Transylvania [Listen]
10. Future Love Song [Listen]
11. Your Beautiful Mind [Listen]
12. Traveller [Listen]
13. Abysmal - More Than This [Listen]
14. Saint Of Lonely Hearts [Listen]
15. Death Of Ccm [Listen]
16. Unholy Triad [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.