Mars Ill - Pro Pain

Published Wednesday 23rd August 2006
Mars Ill - Pro Pain
Mars Ill - Pro Pain

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 18709-10157
LABEL: Gotee GTD47741
RELEASE DATE: 2006-05-01
RRP: £10.76

Reviewed by Kevin J Foulger

This is the album that took forever to come out due to sample clearance problems. I'm glad the Atlanta duo persevered as playing this version it simply got better and better and I soon realised I was listening to a real gem. For me, this is how hip-hop should sound. Most of the music is a mix of funk and rap. There is a great deal of detail in the backing soundscape, from record scratching to funky guitar loops. The rapping is of a truly excellent quality. The CD is bursting with creativity and it sounds like they all worked extremely hard on this project to bring it up to this high standard of workmanship. The drum loops and basslines are warm and rich and perfectly compliment the rapping and vocals. Dust and Manchild are the main rappers, but many guests from their hometown of Atlanta add their contributions. An album like this is so rare and a real diamond in a world of mass-produced music. It's a masterpiece, a work of art. How else can I describe it?

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Pro-Pain (Intro) [Listen]
2. Say So [Listen]
3. Sound Off [Listen]
4. Too Strong To Change [Listen]
5. -Dog Eared Page [Listen]
6. More [Listen]
7. Jus The Two Of US [Listen]
8. Stand Back And Watch [Listen]
9. Wicked Ways [Listen]
10. Saturday Night Special [Listen]
11. Glam Rap [Listen]
12. Higher [Listen]
13. Effortless [Listen]
14. Write Of Passage [Listen]
15. When Heave Scrapes The Pavement [Listen]
16. I Is [Listen]
17. We Out (Outro) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.