Mars Ill - Pro Pain (unreleased version)

Published Wednesday 17th November 2004
Mars Ill - Pro Pain (unreleased version)

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Gotee GTD72940
RRP: £14.67

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Released swiftly on the back of the critically acclaimed 'Backbreakanomics', Mars Ill continue their association with Gotee Records with 'Pro Pain'. Any fears that this Atlanta-based underground hip-hop duo would go pop and end up with the shattered street cred of a John Reuben are now unfounded. Manchild and Dust continue to plough their own furrow with freedom of expression and the results are that once more Dust delivers a bunch of hard-hitting beats and creative grooves whilst Manchild continues to lambaste the culture with uncompromising rhymes. From the challenge of "Saturday Night" to the confidence of "All Out", Mars Ill continue to make cutting edge music better than most who are currently making waves in the mainstream.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Say So
2. Change Your Ways
3. All Out
4. Saturday Night
5. Sound Off
6. Movement [Listen]
7. Stand Back
8. Dog Ear Page
9. More
10. Movement
11. Effortless
12. Loud
13. Write Of Passage
14. When Heaven Scrapes
15. I Is

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.