Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 2: T-Allt Ruadh (The Red Burn)

Saturday 1st October 1994
Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 2: T-Allt Ruadh (The Red Burn)
Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 2: T-Allt Ruadh (The Red Burn)

STYLE: Celtic
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9

Reviewed by Tim Walker

Apart from one "problem", Mr Homer's first "roots praise" collection two years back was just what I'd been praying for ages. Out went the ubiquitous mid-Atlantic soft pop, in reeled Celtic jigs and airs. Wonderful. The problem? Quite simply -TECHNOLOGY!!! Clearly I'm not the only one who complained to Sammy, judging by this new collection. The synths and drumboxes of Vol 1 have left by the barn door, allowing in all the fiddles, mandolins and Celtic harps which couldn't fit in last time. And what a change! This time, Sammy and his multitudinous friends (Electrics past and present, Jonathan Day, Rodney Cordner, Jean-Pierre Rudolph and many others) really have got it spot on. The songs are stronger than ever, originals mingling with Celtified hymns (eg, "I Cannot Tell") and many would fit well into ordinary worship situations. Best of all, though, they rub shoulders with a number of great instrumentals, including the marvellous "Berni's Wedding Jig". On Volume 1, Jonathan Day exhorted those of us tired of "production line praise" to "let some holy fire through your ears". This time, Jon, I'll bring my friends too - in a perfect world, all P&W albums would sound like this!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. My Lord Is The Greatest Of All [Listen]
2. Our Confidence Is In The Lord [Listen]
3. Berni's Wedding Jig [Listen]
4. Blessed Trinity [Listen]
5. Ephesians 1 V 7 [Listen]
6. There's A Life After This [Listen]
7. I Will Sing [Listen]
8. Dancing At The Crossroads [Listen]
9. Glen-A-John Air [Listen]
10. The Red Burn (T-Allt Ruadh [Listen]
11. Sing O Sing [Listen]
12. Psalm 123 [Listen]
13. The Braes Of Glencoe [Listen]
14. Beverley's Reel, Rain From A Red Sky, Port-Ui-Mhuirgheasa [Listen]
15. Praise To The Lord, Amen [Listen]
16. I Cannot Tell [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room