The Eden Prophecy - Talk Of The Angels

Published Wednesday 1st December 2004
The Eden Prophecy - Talk Of The Angels
The Eden Prophecy - Talk Of The Angels

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 11094-10040
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by David Faulkner

In which those of us still mourning the defeat of prog rock in the punk wars find hope. Damon Newman and Paul Howarth play guitar-based prog with echoes of Steve Hackett and (occasionally) Kings X. But prog requires a grandiose vision, and so The Eden Prophecy's enterprise is stymied by low budget production, pedestrian lyrics and great riffs that don't always develop into great tunes. Treat this CD as a demo and you'll find it promising; treat it as the finished article and you'll be disappointed.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Fountain Of Eden [Listen]
2. Talk Of The Angels [Listen]
3. Arabian Summer [Listen]
4. Anakim [Listen]
5. Transcendence [Listen]
6. Glorious Day [Listen]
7. Machine [Listen]
8. The Silver Chord [Listen]
9. Embrace The Future [Listen]
10. Space Portal [Listen]
11. Hybrid [Listen]
12. Anakim [Listen]
13. Transendence [Listen]
14. Embrace The Future [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.