Wood`s Famous Blind Jubilee Singers, / Quartet - Cpmlete Recorded Works In Chronological Order

Published Friday 18th April 2008
Wood`s Famous Blind Jubilee Singers, / Quartet - Cpmlete Recorded Works In Chronological Order
Wood`s Famous Blind Jubilee Singers, / Quartet - Cpmlete Recorded Works In Chronological Order

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21398-11947
LABEL: Document DOCD5439
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

No one would claim that either of these ensembles were top rate practitioners of pre-war jubilee singing though the 12 sides by each of these two male groups have their moments. Indicating the chaotic way in which early "race music" was issued by the companies banging out the 78s the Wood's group had a whole heap of recording nom-de-plumes. They were Wood's Famous Blind Jubilee Singers and Woods (sic) Famous Blind Quartette (on Paramount), Jacobs (sic) Blind Singers (on Broadway), Herwin Famous Jubilee Singers (on Herwin) and Harrisons (sic) Jubilee Singers (on Silvertone). We don't know their line up but they sang with a rough and ready aplomb and "Run To My Lord", with its mix of fast and slow passages, and "Seek And Ye Shall Find", with a rollicking piano accompaniment, are both enjoyable today. The Cotton Belt Quartet featured tighter harmonies and their 12 sides feature some of the best known spirituals like "Go Down Moses", "Give Me That Old Time Religion" and "Swing Low Sweet Chariot", the latter far removed from the bayings of English rugby fans as it's possible to get.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lord I'm Troubled (Take 1) [Listen]
2. Lord I'm Troubled (Take 2) [Listen]
3. Lord Have Mercy [Listen]
4. One Morning Soon [Listen]
5. Bright Brown Crown [Listen]
6. The Little Wheel Is Rolling In My Heart [Listen]
7. Run To My Heart [Listen]
8. This Train Is Bound For Glory [Listen]
9. Seek And Ye Shall Find [Listen]
10. You Must Be Converted [Listen]
11. The Lord's Prayer (Take 1) [Listen]
12. The Lord's Prayer (Take 2) [Listen]
13. I'm Gonna Shout All Over God's Heaven [Listen]
14. We'll Be Ready When The Great Day Comes [Listen]
15. Lord, I've Done What You Wanted Me To [Listen]
16. Golden Slippers [Listen]
17. Give Me That Old Time Religion [Listen]
18. In My Heart [Listen]
19. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot [Listen]
20. I Couldn't Hear Nobody Pray [Listen]
21. Steal Away To Jesus [Listen]
22. Go Down Moses [Listen]
23. Hallelujah [Listen]
24. Talk About Dixie [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.