Celtic Collection - Praise And Worship

Tuesday 1st December 1998
Celtic Collection - Praise And Worship
Celtic Collection - Praise And Worship

STYLE: Celtic
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Word CND003
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Peter Williams

Can you remember some years back when a record company accidentally discovered (via Rob And Gilly) that there was a huge market for instrumental worship albums? What did they do? Flood the market with them of course. Today every Christian bookshop has racks full of them. Now the same thing is happening with 'Celtic music'. From Eastbourne to Nashville the word has gone out that meditative albums featuring Irish flutes, uilleann pipes packaged with sleeves featuring photos of Celtic crosses or Hebbredean islands are this year's maker niche and dozens, probably hundreds, of Celtic albums will no doubt pour out before Irish/Scottish sounding versions of "Amazing Grace", "St Patrick's Day", etc utterly saturate the market place. The renditions here, by a bunch of Nashville-based session musicians, are skillfully played. And as someone who has been personally touched by the timeless writing of Celtic spirituality I am delighted to see ordinary church goers, regardless as to whether they can trace Celtic ancestry in their family trees, turning to this rich stream of spirituality. But as a depressing example of Marketing By Numbers I find albums as unimaginitive as this rather depressing.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Show Your Power [Listen]
2. The River Is Here [Listen]
3. He Is Exalted [Listen]
4. Your Loving Arms [Listen]
5. Awesome God [Listen]
6. Ascendance [Listen]
7. As The Deer [Listen]
8. Perpetuity [Listen]
9. We Will Dance On The Streets That Are Golden [Listen]
10. Restless Souls [Listen]
11. Seek Ye First [Listen]
12. St Jude's Dance [Listen]
13. Storm In A Teapot [Listen]
14. Sarah's Prayer [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.