Dan Macaulay - From You For You

Published Thursday 3rd May 2012
Dan Macaulay - From You For You
Dan Macaulay - From You For You

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 124317-19085
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Ian Hayter

Inspired by the words of Romans 11:36, this second full-length album by the Canadian worship leader (after 2004's 'Captured Again' and the 2009 EP 'The Listening') boasts an impressive set of producers (Keith Everette Smith, Nathan Nockels, Bryan Lenox and Michael W Smith) and a fine bunch of musicians. The 11 songs are all written by Mr Macaulay (not to be confused with British worship leader Matt Macaulay), except the wonderful "Breathe In Me" which was written by Wayne Kirkpatrick and Michael W Smith, who also plays on the track. Strangely, Dan says that he feels this track is his most personal song. The melodies to all these songs are memorable and help to bring alive the lyrics, with their strongly message-driven thrust (each song is linked to a Scripture verse on the album sleeve) and which connect with the listener in ways which are inspiring, comforting and challenging. "Permanent" and "Your Kindness" are firmly rooted in a sense of God's love, while "Listening", "In Awe" and the opening title track all point to God's glory. A fine album with plenty to commend it.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.