Spoken - A Moment Of Imperfect Clarity

Saturday 1st November 2003
Spoken - A Moment Of Imperfect Clarity
Spoken - A Moment Of Imperfect Clarity

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Tooth & Nail TND83700
RRP: £1.99

Reviewed by Ben Lilford

If you wanted me to give an example of what nu metal sounds like today I would probably pick out Spoken's new album, and that unfortunately is it's problem. In the market glut that is American nu metal, Spoken are somewhere in the middle. They don't have much interesting to say and no new riffs to back it up. The guitars clang, the singer screams with nasally enhanced sincerity, everyone does their job. “Promise” is the best song on offer but the album basically chugs along until it stops. It doesn't deserve to but it will probably sell millions.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Across These Waters [Listen]
2. Promise [Listen]
3. A Breath In The Fog [Listen]
4. Falling Further [Listen]
5. Sleep Well Tonight [Listen]
6. A World Away [Listen]
7. Learning To Forget [Listen]
8. In Dreams [Listen]
9. Seasons Change [Listen]
10. Remembered [Listen]
11. How Long [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.