Spoken - What Remains

Friday 1st October 1999
Spoken - What Remains
Spoken - What Remains

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Metro Vox MOD1732

Reviewed by Alex Figgis

With their latest material, Spoken appear to have matured greatly since last year's debut release 'On Your Feet'. Produced by Jyro Xhan (Mortal, Fold Zandura), Spoken's peculiar brand of hardcore has been both challenged and encouraged to develop a step further than realised on their previous album. 'What Remains' contains well thought out rhythm sections that both keep and maintain interest throughout the proceedings, resulting in a compelling musical score deftly executed by a fine band. Spoken's raw edge has been successfully drawn out in the mix, without detracting in any way from the well produced compositions that make up 'What Remains'. There is a heightened level of disciplined intensity not found on the band's last project, where the powerfully dynamic walls of sound created by BJ Watson (guitar),Jef Cunningham (guitar) and Travis Pierce (bass) make way for the impassioned vocal eruptions of Matt Baird, all kept deftly to time by Ronnie Crupper (drums). Complete with an industrial flavoured cover of Brian Ray's "People Get Ready, Jesus Is Comin" which Spoken admirably make their own, 'What Remains' stands as a fine example of the rapcore genre.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. [introduction] [Listen]
2. Your Grace Alone [Listen]
3. Silent Voice [Listen]
4. The God You Follow [Listen]
5. Prepare To Meet Thy God [Listen]
6. When I Fall [Listen]
7. So Far From God [Listen]
8. Taken For Granted [Listen]
9. Forgive Me [Listen]
10. New Life [Listen]
11. Runaway [Listen]
12. [untitled Track] [Listen]
13. Fly With Me [Listen]
14. People Get Ready- Jesus Is Comin' [Listen]
15. [filler Space] [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.