The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Larsson In Brass The ISB Plays The Music Of John Larsson

Published Saturday 14th July 2018
The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Larsson In Brass The ISB Plays The Music Of John Larsson
The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Larsson In Brass The ISB Plays The Music Of John Larsson

STYLE: Brass Band
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 170777-26877
LABEL: Salvationist Publishing & Supp

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

The string of musicals written by John Gowans and John Larsson in the '60s and '70s had a huge impact on the Salvation Army and demonstrated that it wasn't just the Joystrings who could make music some distance from the Salvationist brass band traditions. In fact, such was the popularity of the Gowans and Larsson musicals that they not only got tongue-in-cheek accolades of "Christianity's answer to Webber and Rice" that some church historians might have wondered whether the dominance of brass band music in Army circles was beginning to draw to a close. That didn't happen of course though it is a little ironic that Larsson, now a highly regarded General in the Salvation Army, has with ISB band master Dr Stephen Cobb overseen these arrangements and recordings which puts these joyful and melodically inventive compositions back into a "traditional" brass band sound. The playing is, of course, excellent and whether it's a new coat of paint on "Take-over Bid" from their 1968 musical; a selection from the daring-for-the-time Holy Spirit musical Spirit; and other Gowans and Larsson songs the affect is uplifting. It's not all oldies from the musicals here. Apparently Stephen Cobb persuaded Larsson to emerge from a 25-year retirement as a composer to write "Spirit Breeze" (lyrics by Keith Banks). All in all, if you enjoy quality brass work on memorable melodies you'll find this set a listening pleasure.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Abundance [Listen]
2. Take-over Bid [Listen]
3. A Special Moment [Listen]
4. Music-maker [Listen]
5. Hosea [Listen]
6. Wonders Begin When The Lord Comes In! [Listen]
7. Fill The World With Glory! [Listen]
8. Selection From 'Spirit!' [Listen]
9. That's The Spirit! [Listen]
10. The Kingdom Is Theirs [Listen]
11. It's New [Listen]
12. Spirit Breeze [Listen]
13. Here They Come I. [Listen]
14. Here They Come Ii. [Listen]
15. Here They Come Iii. [Listen]
16. The Fruit Of The Spirit [Listen]
17. The Spirit In Me! [Listen]
18. They Shall Come From The East [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room