iWorship - A Total Christmas Worship Experience

Published Saturday 29th April 2006
iWorship - A Total Christmas Worship Experience
iWorship - A Total Christmas Worship Experience

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 16356-11096
LABEL: Integrity 000768265321
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Matthew Cordle

It seems quite strange to be listening to this in April, but then I guess in one way it actually makes one listen more objectively. This is a two CD/DVD set that claims to "bring the heart of worship to the Christmas season". Produced by Don Moen and Chris Tomason, the songs are a mixture of arrangements of traditional carols, instrumentals (eg, brass band rendition of "O Little Town Of Bethlehem") and three exclusive Christmas songs by MercyMe, Sara Groves and Sonicflood. The other performers are singing groups and artists such as The Maranatha Singers, The Women Of Faith Worship Team, Kelly Willard and Tom Hemby (who I remember from his days in The Imperials). I can see this being okay in the background at a Christmas dinner party, but it really is so sugary sweet it almost puts your teeth on edge when specifically listening to it. The performances are musically excellent, much of the production almost Hollywood in its sparkle, but does it "help people worldwide experience the manifest presence of God" as per the declaration on the back cover? I guess it depends - I know some of my American friends would love it, my mum would probably love it, I like quite a lot of it for what it is, but it doesn't seem to have much soul (in the real sense of word, not the musical genre). I feel it is in danger of being just another piece of Christmas wallpaper, not something that will genuinely help you appreciate Jesus' birth in a new way and fall down in worship. The highlight for me is Sara Groves' cover of Chris Eaton's classic "Breath Of Heaven", a beautifully simple arrangement that is full of wonder. The bonus DVD just contains videos of three songs. I've given this just six squares overall as, although much of the music is first rate in terms of arrangements and performances, I don't think it achieves its primary stated goal as per the declaration mentioned above.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Good Christian Men Rejoice [instrumental] [Listen]
2. O Come O Come Emmanuel [Listen]
3. O Little Town Of Bethlehem [Listen]
4. O Little Town Of Bethlehem [instrumental] [Listen]
5. The First Noel [Listen]
6. O Holy Night [Listen]
7. Do You Hear What I Hear- [Listen]
8. Medley (One Small Child-More Precious Than Silver) [Listen]
9. Medley (Angels We Have Heard On High-Angels From The Realms Of Glory-Hark! The Her [Listen]
10. O Come All Ye Faithful [Listen]
11. Medley (O Come All Ye Faithful-Let There Be Glory And Honor And Praises) [instrume [Listen]
12. Medley (Joy To The World-Heaven And Nature Sing) [Listen]
13. Light Of The World [Listen]
14. Silent Night [instrumental] [Listen]
15. Breath Of Heaven (Mary's Song) [Listen]
16. It Came Upon The Midnight Clear [Listen]
17. Medley (Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne-Worthy, You Are Worthy) [Listen]
18. Medley (Lo How A Rose E'er Blooming-O Come All Ye Faithful) [instrumental] [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
This great seasonal addition to this popular series features 35 Christmas favourites like 'O Little Town of Bethlehem, Silent Night, Hark the Herald Angels Sing, The First Noel' blended with beautiful instrumentals. Includes 3 newly recorded songs from MercyMe, Sara Groves and Sonicflood exclusive to this CD. FREE Bonus DVD inside of 3 songs.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room