Steve Bell, Brooke Nicholls and Manafest among winners of Canada's Covenant Awards

Covenant Awards 2018

WITH THE ever increasing interest in music emanating from Canada, international attention like never before has turned to the Annual Covenant Awards, set up to highlight the best Canadian Christian music. At the 39th Annual Awards ceremony held on 27th January in Edmonton, Alberta, veteran acoustic singer/songwriter Steve Bell received the most awards including the Lifetime Achievement Artist award. The list of winners is: Lifetime Achievement - Artist: Steve Bell; Lifetime Achievement - Industry: Dave Zeglinski; Country Song Of The Year: "Rest In Me" - Jaylene Johnson; Gospel Song Of The Year: "Pray, Pray Again" - Jaylene Johnson; Folk Song Of The Year: "Joy (Oh There She Goes)" - Fraser Campbell; Francophone Song Of The Year: "Tant Que Je Respirerai" - Timothe Beaulieu; Inspirational Song Of The Year: "Wait Alone In Stillness" - Steve Bell; Instrumental Song Of The Year: "The Newborn King" - Drew Brown; International Song Of The Year: "Even If" - Bart Millard, Ben Glover, Crystal Lewis, David Garcia, Tim Timmons; Jazz/Blues Song Of The Year: "Jubilation" - Johnny Summers; The Trinity Western University Praise & Worship Song Of The Year: "Honestly" - Elias Dummer, Anadara Arnold, Carl Cartee; The Shine FM Pop Song Of The Year: "First Day Of My Life" - James Shiels, Jordan Janzen, Bryan Fowler; Rock Song Of The Year: "House Of Cards" - Manafest; Seasonal Song Of The Year: "Hallelujah For The Cross" - Drew Brown; Urban/Rap Song Of The Year: "Pressure" - Landry; Album Of The Year: Where the Good Way Lies - Steve Bell; Folk Album Of The Year: 'Orbits' - Keith Kitchen; Francophone Album Of The Year: 'Rendez-Vous' - Emilie Charette; Gospel Album Of The Year: 'Eternally Grateful' - Warren Dean Flandez; Inspirational Album Of The Year: 'Reverse' - Greg Sykes; Instrumental Album Of The Year: 'Hymns For The Seasons' - Steve Wingfield; International Album Of The Year: 'Let There Be Light' - Hillsong Worship; Jazz/Blues Album Of The Year: 'The Dark Threads' - Suzanne Vaartstra; The Life 100.3 Pop Album Of The Year: 'Eternally Grateful' - Warren Dean Flandez; The PraiseCharts Praise & Worship Album Of The Year: 'Benediction (Live)' - The City Harmonic; Rock Album Of The Year: 'Uprising' - Informants; Seasonal Album Of The Year: 'O Night Divine' - Drew Brown; Southern Gospel/Country Album Of The Year: 'Plum Coulee, My Home' - Rosemary & The Sweet Sound Revival; Urban/Rap Album Of The Year: ' Eternally Grateful' - Warren Dean Flandez; The Joy Radio, CJYE Artist Of The Year: The Color; Collaboration Of The Year: 'Where The Good Way Lies' - Steve Bell, Fresh IE, Co-Co Ray Stevenson; The Joy Radio, CJYE Female Vocalist Of The Year: Brooke Nicholls; The Joy Radio, CJYE Male Vocalist Of The Year: Greg Sykes; The Food For The Hungry Canada Group Of The Year: The Color; New Artist Of The Year: Brooke Nicholls; Producer Of The Year: Drew Brown; Recorded Song Of The Year: "Surprise" - The Color; The Joy Radio, CJYE Song Of The Year: "Overhead Projector" - Tim Neufeld & Ryan Mcallister. CR

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.