Tauren Wells walks away with four Christian music awards

Dove Awards 2018

THE 49TH annual GMA Dove Awards were held at the Allen Arena in Nashville on 16th October. The big winner was first time nominee Tauren Wells, who took home four awards including Contemporary Christian Artist Of The Year and New Artist Of The Year. The full list of winners is: Artist of the Year - Zach Williams; New Artist of the Year -Tauren Wells; Song of the Year - "Reckless Love"; Artist Songwriter of the Year - Matthew West; Non-Artist Songwriter of the Year - Colby Wedgeworth; Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year - Tauren Wells; Southern Gospel Artist of the Year - Gaither Vocal Band; Gospel Artist of the Year - Tasha Cobbs Leonard; Producer of the Year - Jason Ingram and Paul Mabury; Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year - "War Cry (ft. Tauren Wells)", Social Club Misfits; Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year - "Walking On Water", NEEDTOBREATHE; Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year - "Old Church Choir", Zach Williams; Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year - "Washed By The Water", Jason Crabb; Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year - "Dinner on the Ground (ft. the Oak Ridge Boys)", Little Roy & Lizzy Show; Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year - "Won't He Do It", Koryn Hawthorne and Roshon Fegan; Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year - "Close", Marvin Sapp; Urban Worship Recorded Song of the Year - "You Waited", Travis Greene; Spanish Language Recorded Song of the Year - "Sin Ti", Alex Zurdo; [tied] Worship Song of the Year - "Reckless Love", Cory Asbury, and "So Will I (100 Billion X)", Hillsong United; Urban Worship Album of the Year - 'Heart. Passion. Pursuit.', Tasha Cobbs Leonard; Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year - 'Today We Rebel', KB; Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year - 'Unleashed', Beyond Skillet; Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year - 'Hills And Valleys', Tauren Wells; Southern Gospel Album of the Year - 'What's Not To Love?', Mark Lowry; Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year - 'Blessed: Hymns And Songs Of Faith', Bradley Walker; Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year - 'A Long Way From Sunday', Anthony Brown & group therapy; Traditional Gospel Album of the Year - 'One Nation Under God', Jekalyn Carr; Spanish Language Album of the Year - 'Pentecost├ęs', Miel San Marcos; Worship Album of the Year - 'Reckless Love', Cory Asbury; Instrumental Album of the Year - 'A Thankful Heart', Craig Duncan; Christmas/Special Event Album of the Year - 'Christmas | Live In Phoenix', For King & Country; Musical of the Year - 'How To Have The Best Christmas Ever', (creators) Daniel Semsen, Heidi Petak, Jeff Bumgardner, Joel Lindsey; Choral Collection of the Year - 'Your Word' (creators) Cliff Duren, Jeff Bumgardner; Children's Music Album of the Year - 'Bright Ones', Bright Ones; Youth/Children's Musical of the Year - 'Angels Say What?!' - (creators) Alisen Wells, Anna Clark, Nick Robertson; Recorded Music Packaging of the Year - 'Decade The Halls, Vol I', Tenth Avenue North; Short Form Video of the Year - "I'll Find You (ftg Tori Kelly)", Lecrae; Long Form Video of the Year - "There Is More", Hillsong Worship; Inspirational Film of the Year - I Can Only Imagine (directors) The Erwin Brothers (producers) Kevin Downes and Cindy Bond. CR

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.