John De Jong - Without Walls

Published Monday 22nd March 2010
John De Jong - Without Walls
John De Jong - Without Walls

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 87269-16221
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £5.00

Reviewed by Andrew Coe

'Without Walls' offers a good glimpse into the Cumbria-based singer/songwriter's music. The EP is made up of four new recordings plus two bonus tracks taken from John's 2005 album 'Riding The Storm'. The opening title track has a strong rhythmic feel to it, with a pounding drum beat and biting guitar which gradually builds up into the chorus where John's vocals shine. "New Day" sees John adding some electric guitars into the mix. The song is about starting each day with God in the centre, and the chorus is reminiscent of "This Is The Day That The Lord Has Made". Both "Communion" and the cover of Andrea Alonso-Marintez's "The Lord Bless You" are both slower, acoustic focused songs and echo back to John's own 'Acoustic Communion' album. All-in-all, an excellent and at times powerful showcase for the worship leader.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.