Pillar - One Love Revolution

Published Tuesday 6th October 2015
Pillar - One Love Revolution
Pillar - One Love Revolution

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Rob Birtley

After a six-year break Pillar is back with 'One Love Revolution' featuring their classic line up of Rob Beckley (vocals), Noah Henson (guitar), Lester Estelle Jr II (drums) and Michael "Kalel" Wittig (bass). From the opening title track Beckley recaptures his solid-gold singing/rap swagger. He is quoted saying, "This song was meant to be a big anthem to unite people in fighting to spread the love of Jesus." It sounds like it could succeed in its aim with Rob's powerhouse vocals and a wall of crushing guitars roaring throughout. "Disconnected" starts with a rapid guitar line on a song that suggests that in all the digital noise the true message can struggle to be heard. "Nails" is all about the necessity to die to self to truly live, ripping right in with pounding drum and crunching guitar this one goes straight for the jugular, easing back in the verse then pulverising in the chorus. 'After a couple of solid rockers the dream-like "Unafraid". To summarise, this is an album which excels in both musical power and spiritual substance and one I'd readily recommend to all rock music fans.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.