First In Three Years

Browse A-Z by Artist Profile
  Keyword search Music News Browse by Genre
Tuesday 6th January 2015

Female-fronted pop rockers Fireflight set to release 'Innova'

FLORIDA-based pop rockers Fireflight will release their first album in over three years. 'Innova' will be released independently through The Fuel Music on 5th May. Now a foursome after guitarist Justin Cox stepped down to spend more time with his growing family, Fireflight now consist of vocalist Dawn Michele, bassist Wendy Drennen, guitarist Glenn Drennen and drummer Adam McMillion. The release of 'Innova' will mark the band's 15th anniversary. It features writing and producer credits by Geoff Duncan (Rapture Ruckus), Rusty Varenkamp (whose accolades include four Grammy-nominated albums), Joshua Silverberg (Thousand Foot Krutch, tobyMac) and Kipp Williams (Newsboys, Mandisa). Speaking about the group's departure from an arm of Sony that yielded a Grammy nomination and the soundtrack for NBC's Bionic Woman promos, Wendy Drennen said, "We had a great relationship with our label for the past eight years, but we were not going in the same direction as the other artists on our label."

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.