All Star United - International Anthems For The Human Race

Monday 1st February 1999
All Star United - International Anthems For The Human Race
All Star United - International Anthems For The Human Race

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Essential 0234100052

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

“Welcome To Our Big Rock Show” is a blistering 108 seconds worth of energetic rock’n’roll that opens the door to the new All Star album. After the success of their self title debut album, this newie has been long anticipated and what do you get? Well, there are still plenty of British influences but this feels more rockist than the quirky pop debut. ASU’s sense of humour is still firmly in place allowing an OTT screaming MC to introduce “Popular Americans” over fake crowd FX with the words “the greatest band in the world!” The addition of a horn section adds more muscle in places and this album is packed with top tunes, catchy choruses and plenty of opportunities to sing along and punch the air! “International Anthem” is typical ASU with driving drums, explosive guitar and suitably anthemic chorus complete with whoo hoos! Just perfect. Other highlights include “Worldwide Socialites Unite” with its satire of the superficiality of the social life which hides behind appearances to avoid dealing with the deeper questions. Hero worship is examined in “Superstate” with its nostalgic look back at the pop heroes of the past and Eskelin’s recognition that the worship of Jesus makes everything else insignificant! “Everything Will Be Alright” unashamedly spells out the security found in knowing God whilst the Britpopy “Thank You, Goodnight” sounds like the perfect set closer to their live rock show! All Star are slowly blossoming into one fine rock band and who knows, their songs could yet become global anthems. Buy this and prepare to sing along!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Welcome To Our Big Rock Show
2. Popular Americans
3. International Anthem
4. Thank You Goodnight
5. If We Were Lovers
6. World Wide Socialites Unite [Listen]
7. I Need You Now
8. Theme From Summer [Listen]
9. Everything Will Be Alright
10. Put Your Arms Around Me

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.